Skip to content
3 For 2 Offer REFRESHED! Over 450 titles now included!
3 For 2 on over 450 titles!

Aldous Harding (2023 Repress)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Pressed on LP again for the first time in years. Aldous Harding's songs are not for the faint of heart. Disarming in their desolate imagery and vulnerable instrumentation, they deal with the raw materials of life: birth, death, love and grief. Sometimes reminiscent of 60s-era folk singers Vashti Bunyan and Linda Perhacs, Harding's work lies in more harsh terrain than her forebears - piercing the long history of the genre with a grit and sincerity rarely encountered. Based in New Zealand's Southern port town of Lyttelton, Auckland-born Harding began playing to the public in small-town venues and busking on the streets. It wasn't long before her name became synonymous with both the vivid devastation of her wordplay and the stark intensity of her performance; a unique blend of fragility and sinewy, world-won strength that belies her youth. Influential BB6 DJs Marc Riley and Mary Anne Hobbs picked up on tracks and a rigorous festival circuit
followed in 2015. The Line Of Best Fit lauded her Great Escape performance: “[Aldous Harding] mixes traditional folk songs with dirge-y notes and ends her incredible performance with an acappella cover of Edith Piaf she was told she was too young to be singing. It was spellbinding.” Of her debut record, The 405 said, “the voice is from another time and the imagery is dramatic, the themes are universal.... [a] toweringly talented song writer.”

Released: December 2023
Cat: FN566LP
Label: Flying Nun Records



1. Stop Your Tears
2. Hunter
3. Two Bitten Hearts
4. Titus Groan
5. Beast
6. No Peace at All
7. Merriweather
8. Small Bones of Courage
9. Titus Alone

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review