Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

The Love It Took To Leave You


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

"The first and titular song on my latest record, performed on solo alto saxophone, The love it took to leave you is a love letter to self and to solitude and to tall old trees that sway and creak in the wind and rain."
- Colin Stetson

The love it took to leave you, is the title track to Colin Stetson’s first solo recording since 2017. It features new ways of capturing his music and instrumentation, intensifying his practice and to continue challenging the historical canon of the bass saxophone while crafting emotive, haunting and harmonically innovative music. Recorded over a week in early 2023 at The Darling Foundry, a 144-year old former metalworks facility in Montreal now transformed into a 3500m3 contemporary art complex, with a voluminous main room that still maintains its raw architecture of brick, concrete and steel. Colin says “We were using the same live setup as I normally would to amplify—a full PA in the building’s spaces—so we were really able to move the kind of air that I can move—really saturating the room, hitting the walls hard. And then we further fleshed it out.”

Another chapter in a larger odyssey inscribed through every solo recording, The love it took to leave you is a story told through the singular melding of Colin’s breath and body, with an arsenal of saxophones and clarinet. Resembling a yet to be published graphic novel, each track plots a course in an overarching tale that spins through a range of scenarios, moods, visions and landscapes. This is the art of storytelling wrought instrumentally. His masterful catalog of film scores illustrate his profound knack for cracking the codes of music as narrative support—and as narrative embodied in his solo releases. Following last year’s award winning album When we were that what wept from the sea, a sort of sunset parable to the trilogy of albums he launched with New History of Warfare Vol. 1 in 2007—this one acts as a prequel, the origin story in his ongoing world-building dramaturgy. Fully conceived, but not formally written, he describes his elaborate storyline as a “scaffolding to write around, offering a set of images, scenes and an overall story arc, it gives the music shape and emotional contour. It’s not simply just offering up an aesthetic.”

Released: September 2024
Cat: INV317LP
Label: Invada Records UK



A1. The love it took to leave you
A2. The Six
A3. The Augur

B1. Hollowing
B2. To think we knew from fear
B3. Malediction
B4. Green and grey and fading light

C1. Strike your forge and grin

D1. Ember
D2. So say the soaring bullbats
D3. Bloodrest

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review