Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

The Great Calm


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Following the dark, expansive power of 2018’s Image and 2021’s minimal Several Others, Whispering Sons’ third album The Great Calm represents a reimagining and rethinking, though this growth has produced a series of songs that are still defiantly and uniquely true to the group.

With bass player and producer Bert Vliegen’s credentials to call on, rather than give the band musical sketches to be fleshed out later as he did previously, guitarist Kobe Lijnen was able to provide more fully formed pictures of his potential new songs. Recorded in four weeks – two in the Audioworkx studio near Eindhoven, Holland, before being finished at the start of 2023 using a homemade set-up on Vlieland, a small Dutch island just off the North Sea coast – the power, energy and beauty behind The Great Calm’s making is etched through the heart of each of its 12 songs.

“The Talker exhibits influences from The Velvet Underground to Talking Heads. Unlike their earlier works, this track hinges on a more buoyant yet still-gripping guitar riff. Its lyrical structure balances on the edge of spoken word and melodic vocals. The sun-kissed guitar notes intertwine seamlessly with powerful drum sequences and rich organ tones. It’s a crafty fusion, proving their continued evolution and reverence for art-rock’s greats.” –

Released: February 2024
Label: [PIAS] Recordings Belgium



1. Standstill
2. Walking, Flying
3. Cold City
4. Dragging
5. Something Good
6. Still, Disappearing
7. The Talker
8. Balm (After Violence)
9. Poor Girl
10. Loose Ends
11. Oceanic
12. Try Me Again

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review