Skip to content

Crestone (Original Score)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: This item is due in on April 23rd

‘Crestone’ is the debut feature written and directed by Marnie Ellen Hertzler in partnership with Memory. Hertzler enlisted the pioneering experimental act Animal Collective to compose the film’s score, a first for the band. 

Marnie Ellen Hertzler on the score: “The town of Crestone is not only the location of the film, but also an important character. I wanted a score that was able to highlight and elevate its importance. There are no musicians I’d rather work with more on this film, and no band that can sonically describe a landscape better than Animal Collective can.” 

Set in the desert of Crestone, CO over the course of eight days, ‘Crestone’ follows a group of SoundCloud rappers who live in solitude, growing weed and making music for the internet. When an old friend arrives to make a movie, reality and fiction begin to blur. 

Animal Collective previously created the audiovisual album ‘Tangerine Reef’ (2018) in collaboration with Coral Morphologic, released ‘Transverse Temporal Gyrus’ (2012) as the music for an installation at the Guggenheim Museum alongside the visual work of artist Danny Perez and released the visual album ‘ODDSAC’ (2010), also in collaboration with Danny Perez. Crestone (Original Score) is the band's first film score.

Released: April 2021
Label: Domino Records



1. Dome Yard
2. Eye in the Sky
3. Boxing & Breathing
4. Scavengers
5. Wake Up Ryan
6. Benz’s Dream
7. Sloppy’s Dream
7. Sand That Moves
8. Over the Sangre de Christo
9. EBS
10. Sad Boy Sleeping
11. Ramshack
12. Smoke & Broken Mirror
13. Zapata Falls
14. Oh California
15. Cotton Candy Sky (Dead God Theme)