Skip to content

Alien Lanes (2020)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: This item is due in on August 21st

Alien Lanes was released in 1995 - their first on Matador records - and would become known as one of Guided By Voice's best ever records (and there's plenty to choose from). In just 41 minutes, Alien Lanes traverses 28 tracks; short and sharp the order of the day for GBV back then. Alien Lanes is not just an album in the life of times of Robert Pollard and Guided By Voices, but a seminal record in the history of American indie rock in the '80s and '90s. In 2020, on its 25th anniversary, Matador reissue Alien Lanes in an extremely limited press of just 2,500 copies (and only 300 of those allocated for the UK market) and is pressed on blue, green and red multicoloured vinyl.


Released: August 2020
Cat: OLE123
Label: Matador



1. A Salty Salute
2. Evil Speakers
3. Watch Me Jumpstart
4. They're Not Witches
5. As We Go Up, We Go Down
6. (I Wanna Be A) Dumbcharger
7. Game Of Pricks
8. The Ugly Vision
9. A Good Flying Bird
10. Cigarette Tricks
11. Pimple Zoo
12. Big Chief Chinese Restaurant
13. Closer You Are
14. Auditorium
15. Motor Away
16. Hit
17. My Valuable Hunting Knife
18. Gold Hick
19. King And Caroline
20. Striped White Jets
21. Ex-Supermodel
22. Blimps Go 90
23. Strawdogs
24. Chicken Blows
25. Little Whirl
26. My Son Cool
27. Always Crush Me
28. Alright