Skip to content

Float (2020)

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

In 2000, Aesop Rock released his first official album, Float, following his steady ascent in the underground from two previous releases, the collection of works CD of lore, Music For Earthworms (1997), and the Appleseed EP (1999). And, while every album Aesop has done since then has captured his continual evolution as both a producer and a writer, Float was undeniably exceptional in its own right.

For one, there was something impacting about a full-length album, 20 tracks deep, that never had any singles. Every track only existed as part of the album experience. That in mind, the album's production is split nearly in half between Aesop Rock and longtime collaborator and good friend, Blockhead, as well as one offering from Omega One, the Reggae-vibed Skip Town. The album's production largely seems to have one collective goal, to immediately capture the intended mood, luring the listener in and leaving them attentive and prepared for the carefully crafted accompanying lyricism.

Twenty years after its debut, Float is a time capsule of an artist on the brink of fully tapping into creative freedom, while the industry was simultaneously in the middle of a notable shift, which still remains a powerful statement on its own, decades later. To celebrate, Rhymesayers re-release Float on 2xLP vinyl, available in three different, limited edition colourways!

Released: September 2020
Cat: Rhymesayers Entertainment
Label: RSE324



1. Float [1:56]
2. Commencement at the Obedience Academy [3:47]
3. Big Bang [5:02]
4. Garbage [4:04]
5. I’ll Be OK [3:02]
6. Breakfast With Blockhead [0:38]
7. Basic Cable [4:13]
8. Fascination [3:49]
9. Oxygen [5:20]
10. Skip Town [4:24]
11. 6B Panorama [2:05]
12. Lunch With Blockhead [0:23]
13. Spare a Match [4:56]
14. Attention Span [3:54]
15. How to Be a Carpenter [4:47]
16. Prosperity [3:59]
17. No Splash [4:04]
18. Drawbridge [4:49]
19. Dinner With Blockhead [0:49]
20. The Mayor and the Crook [4:10]