Skip to content

The Underside Of Power

by Algiers

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Release Info: Released June 23rd 2017
Product Info: Black 12" LP
Cat: OLE11171 (Matador)

Matador Records present Algiers’ second album, ‘The Underside Of Power’. Now a four-piece, with the addition of Bloc Party founding member Matt Tong on drums, Algiers are more pertinent than ever before, ‘The Underside Of Power’ touches on oppression, police brutality, dystopia and hegemonic power structures. Its fiery lyrics encompass TS Eliot, the Old Testament, The New Jim Crow, Tamir Rice and Hannah Arendt, while carried by soulful and visceral songs, meditative moments and personal reflection.


1. Walk Like A Panther
2. Cry Of The Martyrs
3. The Underside Of Power
4. Death March
5. A Murmur. A Sign.
6. Mme Rieux
7. Cleveland
8. Animals
9. Plague Years
10. A Hymn For An Average Man
11. Bury Me Standing
12. The Cycle/The Spiral: Time To Go Down Slowly