Skip to content


by Awate
Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available


Blink and you missed it, Camden based rapper Awate has rapidly become a force to be reckoned with on the UK hip-hop scene. The Evening Standard hailed him as one of London’s most inspiring young artists amid touring with Lowkey, Jay Electronica and even hip-hop legend Yasiin Bey (AKA Mos Def). Born in Eritrea and arriving in the UK as a refugee from Saudi Arabia, Awate’s music centres around those experiences as well as the poverty, race and social issues and activism that he has grown up around in London.

Happiness was recorded over a two year period and this is clear from the witty, thought provoking lyrics and jabbing, razor sharp bars delivered with seamless ease by the young rapper. The melodies are smooth, stylish and infectiously cool and make an interesting contrast to the charged lyrics. The result is that the two come together to create an incredibly enjoyable listening experience. It has something for everyone whether you’re dancing, chilling, or dissecting the meaning behind the lyrics. An absolute must for hip-hop fans.



1: Jewels
3: Guillotines
4: The Ghetto
5: Wake Up Aneurin Bevan
6: An Intermission for the Struggle of Black Life 7: To Whom It May Concern
8: Incantation
9: Brutalism
10: Bianco
11: Fresh Product
12: Ghost File


Released: February 2018
Cat: AWATELP01 / Quite Defiant Records