Skip to content

Houses Are Built The Same


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available.

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

After a short briefing on the steps of the Saint-Etienne Cathedral of Toulouse, the band chose the name Cathedrale. A simplicity that can also be found in their sound: sharp and abrasive guitars, nervous rhythm and a touch of pop in the vocals. Cathedrale draw their influences mostly from British punk and American power pop, bands such as the Buzzcocks, Wire, Parquet Courts or Protomartyr. To follow up their two previous EPs, recorded locally at Swamp Land Studios, the quartet chose to cross the channel to record their third album in London at Haha Sound Studios. Under the supervision of producer Syd Kemp, their sound gained both in clarity and scale, whithout losing any of the urgency that made their previous recordings so endearing. The 13 tracks of Houses Are Built The Same will undoubtedly confirm Cathedrale as one of the most exciting rock bands in the French indie scene.

Released: May 2020
Cat: HB69
Label: Howlin' Banana



1. Intro
2. The Bet
3. Aquiel
4. Right Time
5. Institutions
6. Open Your Eyes
7. Interlude
8. Hidden Museum
9. Gold Rush
10. Taste Good
11. Reverence
12. Shine The Light
13. Is Your Man A Reptile