Skip to content

In The Dark Moving

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Continuing the work begun on her acclaimed 2019 album This World is Too _____ For You, Emily Wells' newest release In The Dark Moving reimagines the original tracks hailed by NPR as "visionary" and "mind-blowing." Initially commissioned by Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra's Liquid Music Series and Metropolis Ensemble, this latest recording offers a thoughtful, minimal companion piece to the original music in the form of Wells, her guitars, and nothing else. Recorded solely by Wells in her Harlem studio during the summer of 2019, she reflects, "I'm interested in getting another look at a song, both in performance and recording. It keeps the song a living thing. I began working on these recordings out of curiosity. I wanted them to be the sort of thing a person could put on quietly at the end of the day on a little speaker and watch the light drain.

Released: June 2020
Cat: MERU102
Label: This Is Meru



1. Remind Me To Remember
2. Stay Up (Minimal Recording)
3. Come On Doom, Let’s Party (Minimal Recording)
4. Eulogy For The Lucky (Minimal Recording)
5. Misconceptions On Forever (Minimal Recording)
6. Need A Placebo (Minimal (Minimal Recording) Recording)
7. Ruthie (Minimal Recording)
8. Rock N Roll Man (Minimal Recording)
9. Your Apocalypse Was Fab (Minimal Recording)
10. Hymn For The New World (Minimal Recording)