Skip to content

Always Ascending


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.


*Indies edition is a limited pink 12" vinyl LP + 8-page booklet & 24" x 24" poster + download*

Glasgow indie legends Franz Ferdinand return with their 5th Long Player Always Ascending.

Right then, what’s new? Well, quite a lot as it happens. 4 years have passed since Franz’s last non-collaborative effort and founding member, co guitar slinger, backing and sometimes lead singer Nick McCarthey has amicably parted company to focus on family and other projects. In comes Miaoux Miaoux as his direct replacement. Dino Bardot has also joined the band, but this came after recording was completed.

So, that’s the lineup covered but what is it sounding like? Well, it sounds like Franz Ferdinand. How odd! “Which incarnation of Franz?” you might ask. Always Ascending sees the band looking to develop the filthy late-night dancefloor sleaze that the band first explored on 2009’s Tonight.

So, there you have it. If you’re already a fan, you’re not going to be disappointed. If you’re not already a fan but you’re looking for something dirty to shake your thang to, give this one a spin on delicious indie only pink wax! Yum.



1. Always Ascending
2. Lazy Boy
3. Paper Cages
4. Finally
5. The Academy Award
6. Lois Lane
7. Huck And Jim
8. Glimpse of Love
9. Feel The Love Go
10. Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow


Released: February 2018
Cat: WIGLP408X / Domino