Skip to content

Something Familiar

by Hibou

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

After almost three years of waiting, American electro-pop outfit Hibou return with their ten-track album, Something Familiar. The wait was worth it.

The teenage shoe-gazing of the previous release is now gone. Something Familiar is a much darker affair. Front man Peter Michel, now with a full band on board too, seems to have abandoned his previous dreamy pop, moving into much darker and more mature territory.

Something Familiar addresses anxiety, as well as depersonalisation. It explores fear, as well as isolation. Stand out track ‘Fall Into’, also the album’s first single, confronts such stark themes, but layers its vibe with poppy dreaminess. On the other hand, ‘Junipero Love’ is a more driven slab of guitar pop that discusses the fear of love.

This more mature, more polished sound is now what Hibou has become. Michel admits that the new sound is essentially similar, but that it is now ‘drenched in a little more honesty’. This is both the power and the beauty of Something Familiar. It is familiar, but it’s different. It’s certainly more expansive; that’s what makes us wonder why they are not already a bigger name than they are. I think it’s only a matter of time.

Released: March 2018
Cat: LPBARK170
Label: Barsuk Records



1. Malison
2. Junipero Love
3. Amethyst
4. Fall Into
5. Glamour
6. Only In
7. The Dark
8. Opia
9. The Way You’re Breathing
10. Something Familiar
11. You Could Vanish Again