Skip to content

The Route To The Harmonium


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.


Indies edition is on heavyweight green vinyl and includes a poster + download code

James Yorkston releases his new album The Route To The Harmonium. The album was almost entirely recorded by James himself, in the small Scottish fishing village of Cellardyke, where he lives.

Yorkston’s studio is a ramshackle old loft space, originally used to repair fisherman’s nets and now stuffed full with the antique instruments James has collected throughout his life as a musician.

Having created hours of recordings, James called up his old collaborator David Wrench - the mixer and producer who has worked with the likes of Caribou, Four Tet, Frank Ocean, FKA Twigs and David Byrne - to help make sense of the sessions.

The Route To The Harmonium (or, ‘the search for peace’) is the sound of home, of undisturbed craftmanship. Listen closely and you can imagine him putting it together.


1. Your Beauty Could Not Save You
2. The Irish Wars of Independence
3. Like Bees to Foxglove
4. Shallow
5. The Blue of the Thistle
6. Brittle
7. My Mouth Ain’t No Bible
8. Solitary Islands All
9. The Villages I Have Known My Entire Life
10. Oh Me, Oh My
11. Yorkston Athletic
12. A Footnote to an Epitaph


Released: February 2019
Cat: WIGLP425 / Domino