Skip to content

Damned Devotion

Save 33%
Original price £18.00
Current price £12.00

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Damned Devotion is the brand new album from Joan As Police Woman, aka Joan Wasser, released via Play It Again Sam. Available on 180g pink coloured 12" vinyl, the album harks back to Joan Wasser’s earlier material with its stripped-back, darkly sensual melodies.

With a sound she describes as "punk rock R&B" meets "American soul music," Joan As Police Woman merges classical soul with experimentalism.

The new album resonates with emotional depth, with smoky, lingering vocals and meaningful lyrics. Lead track ‘Warning Bell’ is both dreamy and magnetic, and the darker mood of the album overall draws comparisons to Joan’s earliest releases. This record is her first since 2014’s The Classic.

Wasser says of the album:

‘This record is darker and more pensive. The title is undeniably dramatic but it’s a subject I’ve been tangling with all my life: how does one live a devoted life without becoming obsessed or losing one’s mind?’



1. Wonderful
2. Warning Bell
3. Tell Me
4. Steed (for Jean Genet)
5. Damned Devotion
6. The Silence
7. Valid Jagger
8. Rely On
9. What Was It Like
10. Talk About It Later
11. Silly Me
12. I Don’t Mind


Released: February 2018
Cat: PIASR1005 / Play It Again Sam