Skip to content

I, Jonathan (2020)

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

I, Jonathan is the fourth solo album by Jonathan Richman, released by the Rounder Records label in 1992. This is the first time it has ever been available on vinyl. As the founder of influential protopunk band The Modern Lovers, Richman had strived to convey authentic emotions and storytelling with his music. I, Jonathan continued this aesthetic with simple and sparse rock and roll arrangements, and straightforward lyrics about mundane topics. Songs on the album addressed topics such as backyard parties ('Parties in the U.S.A'), memories of neighborhoods in which Richman had lived ('Rooming House on Venice Beach' and 'Twilight in Boston') and his admiration of his primary musical inspiration, the Velvet Underground ('Velvet Underground').

Released: August 2020
Cat: CR00283
Label: Craft Recordings



1. Parties In The U.S.A.
2. Tandem Jump
3. You Can't Talk To The Dude
4. Velvet Underground
5. I Was Dancing In The Lesbian Bar
6. Rooming House On Venice Beach
7. That Summer Feeling
8. Grunion Run
9. A Higher Power
10. Twilight In Boston