Skip to content

Asperities (2019 Reissue)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Out of print for two years, Asperities is reissued to coincide with the elegant new album for 2019 Temporal.

Asperities is the fourth solo album by acclaimed Vancouver-born, New York-based cellist Julia Kent, originally released in 2015.

Utilising treated cello and electronics, Kent creates a world where the technological and the organic merge in perfect symbiosis, the layers of sound peeling back to reveal a beating, bloody human heart at its centre.

Accurately described as “elegant and intense” and “deeply personal”, Kent draws from a rich well of emotion. There is tension, darkness and masterful restraint in this work.

The album is packaged with collage artwork by Canadian artist Anthony Gerace
Released: February 2019
Cat: BAY92V
Label: Leaf Label



1. Hellebore
2. Lac des Arcs
3. The Leopard
4. Flag of No Country
5. Terrain
6. Empty States
7. Heavy Eyes
8. Invitation to the Voyage
9. Tramontana