Skip to content

Khruangbin: Late Night Tales


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

This Late Night Tales edition is available on indie store exclusive orange vinyl, which is limited to 4000 units worldwide, with numbered sleeves. Both vinyl formats are pressed on double 180-gram vinyl and include a 30cm art print. A digital download is also included.

Hot on the heels of Mordechai, the critically acclaimed third album from US psych-rockers Khruangbin, the Texas trio are set to become the latest act to present their own LateNightTales in the popular, long-running musician-curated album series. Having first come to prominence in 2013 when producer and D.J. Bonobo included Khruangbin’s ‘A Calf Born in Winter’ in his own collection of songs for the series, the little known Houston trio had yet to release an album, but have since gone on to become international superstars forming their own exotic, individual sound. “The LateNightTales series is such a special thing to be a part of because we wouldn’t have made it if it wasn’t for Bonobo’s LateNightTales, because that’s how we got into the LNT family – and got a break.”

With a mind-blowing selection of tracks that cross borders and cultures, Khruangbin’s deep love of global grooves – from Asian pop to Nigerian reggae – Japanese mellow groove to Latina flavas – are steeped in eclecticism; Nazia Hassan’s Hindi-disco ‘Khushi’, produced by British-Indian legend Biddu, South Korean rock band Sanullim who contribute ‘Don’t Go’, a pair of African bangers from Nigerian Maxwell Udoh and Roha Band, from Ethiopia; a diversion to Belarus for Песняры and thence to Madrid for the strident vocal performance of Paloma San Basilio with ‘Contigo’ before hightailing back to Texas.

Elsewhere, the Lone Star state reps proudly, with David Marez and Kelly Doyle plus, in the LateNightTales tradition, the band deliver an exclusive, horizontally brilliant version of Kool & The Gang’s ‘Summer Madness’, while the mix concludes with a spoken word piece by Tierney Malone, accompanied by fellow Houstonian Geoffrey Muller’s atmospheric banjo rendering of Erik Satie’s ‘Gnossienne’.

“It’s cool to think about what you would listen to late at night, as a band together, lighting a spliff, kinda vibe. We definitely wanted to cover as much global territory as possible; so it was the globe and then home. We wanted to show the treasures from our hometown, or people from our hometown that the rest of the world probably doesn’t know. That’s what makes Khruangbin Khruangbin. The stubbornness about being so hometown-centric but what makes Houston is this this constant international influence.

Released: December 2020
Label: Late Night Tales



Mixed CD Version includes unmixed tracks as download
1. Carlos Santana - Illuminations
2. Brilliantes Del Veulo - I Know That
3. Nazia Hassan - Khushi
4. Kelly Doyle - DRM
5. Sanulim - Dont Go
6. Maxwell Udoh - I Like It
7. David Marez - Enseñame
8. Gerald Lee - Can You Feel The Love
9. Justine & The Victorian Punks - Still You
10. George Yanagi -「祭ばやしが聞こえる」のテーマ
11. Песняры - Зачарованная моя
12. Khruangbin - Summer Madness (Exclusive Track)
13. Paloma San Basilio - Contigo
14. Roha Band - Yetikimt Abeba
15. Tierney Malone & Geoffrey Muller - Transmission for Jehn: Gnossienne No 1 (Exclusive Spoken Word Track)

Unmixed Vinyl Version (includes mixed and unmixed tracks as download)
A1. Carlos Santana - Illuminations
A2. Brilliantes Del Veulo - I Know That
A3. Nazia Hassan - Khushi
A4. Kelly Doyle - DRM
B5. Sanulim - Don't Go
B6. Maxwell Udoh - I Like It
B7. David Marez - Enseñame
B8. Gerald Lee - Can You Feel The Love
C9. Justine & The Victorian Punks - Still You
C10. George Yanagi - 「祭ばやしが聞こえる」のテーマ
C11. Песняры - Зачарованная моя
D12. Khruangbin - Summer Madness (Exclusive Track)
D13. Paloma San Basilio - Contigo
D14. Roha Band - Yetikimt Abeba
D15. Tierney Malone & Geoffrey Muller - Transmission for Jehn: Gnossienne No 1