Skip to content

The Other

Sold out
Original price £21.00
Current price £12.00

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available


Kyle Thomas, aka King Tuff, returns with ten brilliant new tracks on The Other. It’s been four years since predecessor Black Moon Spell, but it’s been worth the wait.

This is king Tuff’s fifth album and it’s clear that it ditches the dirty riffs of earlier work, focusing more on expansive arrangements, involving much more diverse instrumentation.

Highlights include the soaring psychedelic funk of ‘Psycho Star’, with its groovy synths and raging wah wahs, and the day-glo pop of the wonderful ‘Thru The Cracks’.

The Other is a more mature album as a consequence. It is daring, complex and varied. This time round, King Tuff has called on the help of others to fill out his sound. Names such as Mikal Cronin, Jenny Lewis and Ty Segall all appear at some point on the journey. This range of talent and its product, define the brilliance of the album.

For King Tuff, the universe is probably an illusion, but his songs on this release and their tales of hitting rock bottom creatively then climbing the hill of inspiration, make this universe all the more beautifully bizarre. Aptly available on ‘loser edition’ blue vinyl.



1. The Other
2. Raindrop Blue
3. Thru the Cracks
4. Psycho Star
5. Infinite Mile
6. Birds of Paradise
7. Circuits in the Sand
8. Ultraviolet
9. Neverending Sunshine
10. No Man's Land


Released: April 2018
Cat: SP1230X / Sub Pop