Skip to content

Floating Features

by La Luz
Sold out
Original price £21.00
Current price £15.00

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.


La Luz are a hugely talented four-piece based out of Seattle and Floating Features – the group’s third album – is a thrilling, fidgety day trip around a kind of decaying forgotten water park. The jangling surf is there, but instead of being draped in a heavenly sunshine glow, it’s clothed in rust and desperation.

Like Surrealistic Pillow era Jefferson Airplane doing LSD with Surfer Blood (if you could possibly imagine such a thing) Floating Features is a wonderfully bleak antithesis to the usual idea of sunny surf pop. And not just anyone could pull this off, you know. This sort of Tarantino scoring his own day out at the beach kind of vibe. Not by a long shot. La Luz, however, pull it off beautifully.

Singer and guitarist Shana Cleveland’s chambering vocals are the determiner really; a hauntingly perfect overlay to her own stabbing beachy guitar work instantly sets these guys apart from any preconceived ideas of surf pop (The Drums or Day Wave). Bass from Lena Simon and drums from Marian Li Pino are tight and astute, with Alice Sandahl’s fantastic on-theme keyboard work bookending perfectly our desolate day out with The Beach Boys.


01. Floating Features 
02. Cicada 
03. Loose Teeth 
04. Mean Dream 
05. California Finally 
06. The Creature 
07. Golden One 
08. Lonely Dozer 
09. Greed Machine 
10. Walking Into the Sun 
11. Don't Leave Me On the Earth 


Released: May 2018
Cat: HAR105X / Hardly Art