Skip to content

Gold Against The Soul (2020)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Gold Against The Soul is the second album from legendary Welsh rock trio Manic Street Preachers, originally released in 1993. Though it may not stand as one of the Manics most revered works like The Holy Bible or Everything Must Go (even the band themselves aren’t rumoured to fancy it much these days), Gold Against The Soul was the sound of a young band scurrying around trying to find a new direction after the success of their debut album. It doesn’t contain any of “the hits” but it does feature some walloping good rock songs. A whopping 27 years later, Gold Against The Soul is being reissued after the band found a bunch of old tapes from the studio sessions of the time and are putting the record back out there, remastered and with a host of extras. The vinyl edition has been pressed onto heavyweight wax and comes with a download card, while the CD box set contains a 120-page A4 hardback book to accompany a double remastered CD set.

Released: June 2020
Cat: 19439733611/19439733612
Label: Columbia



1. Sleepflower
2. From Despair To Where
3. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)
4. Yourself
5. Life Becoming A Landslide
6. Drug Drug Druggy
7. Roses In The Hospital
8. Nostalgic Pushead 
9. Symphony Of Tourette
10. Gold Against The Soul
11. Donkeys
12. Comfort Comes
13. Are Mothers Saints
14. Patrick Bateman
15. Hibernation
16. Us Against You
17. Charles Windsor
18. Wrote For Luck
19. What's My Name (Live)

1. Sleepflower (House In The Woods Demo)
2. From Despair To Where (House In The Woods Demo)
3. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (House In The Woods Demo)
4. Yourself (Live In Bangkok)
5. Life Becoming A Landslide (House In The Woods Demo)
6. Drug Drug Druggy (House In The Woods Demo)
7. Drug Drug Druggy (Impact Demo)
8. Roses In The Hospital (House In The Woods Demo)
9. Roses In The Hospital (Impact Demo)
10. Nostalgic Pushead (House In The Woods Demo)
11. Symphony Of Tourette (House In The Woods Demo)
12. Gold Against The Soul (House In The Woods Demo)
13. Roses In The Hospital (Og Psychovocal Remix)
14. Roses In The Hospital (51 Funk Salute)
15. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh) (Chemical Brothers Vocal Remix)
16. Roses In The Hospital (Filet O Gang Remix)
17. Roses In The Hospital (Ecg Remix)

1. Sleepflower
2. From Despair To Where
3. La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)
4. Yourself
5. Life Becoming A Landslide
6. Drug Drug Druggy
7. Roses In The Hospital
8. Nostalgic Pushead
9. Symphony Of Tourette
10. Gold Against The Soul