Skip to content

Learning To Cope With Cowardice / The Lost Tapes (Definitive Edition)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Here is Learning To Cope With Cowardice, the groundbreaking debut solo album by visionary post punk iconoclast Mark Stewart, the definitive reissue alongside The Lost Tapes, a newly discovered cache of unreleased material.

Learning To Cope With Cowardice is a vital chapter in the legacy of Mark Stewart & The Maffia, a project that would prove to be a revolutionary benchmark for many, from the innovators of the ‘Bristol Sound’ (The Wild Bunch, Smith & Mighty, Tricky, Massive Attack) through to the likes of Trent Reznor and Nine Inch Nails. Collected together this set realizes an expansive restoration of one of Stewart’s most audacious statements. As it was in the early 1980s so it is now, Learning To Cope With Cowardice is a masterwork of mutant design and a rude awakening of extraordinary bite.

Released: January 2019
Label: Mute



Learning To Cope With Cowardice:
1. Learning To Cope With Cowardice
2. Liberty City
3. Blessed Are Those Who Struggle
4. None Dare Call It Conspiracy
5. Don't Ever Lay Down Your Arms
6. The Paranoia Of Power
7. To Have The Vision
8.3 Jerusalem

The Lost Tapes:
1. Intro
2. May I
3. Conspiracy
4. W.Brooks
5. Paranoia
6. Liberty Dub
7. Vision
8. Cowardice
9. High Ideals & Crazy Dub
10 The Weight