Skip to content

Sentimental Meltdown

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

London based five-piece Mass Datura make their explosive, hook-laden and psychedelic-tinged indie debut: Sentimental Meltdown. Released on All Types Of Slime in October 2017 on a black slab of 12” vinyl; the band push the indie genre to its limits describing themselves as Sunshine Doom. Experimentation comes firstly through the inclusion of violin player Leanne Roberts who melodically soars above her bandmates. However, the band as a whole operate unconventionally. Frontman Thomas Rowe’s vocals are an animalistic yowl against the backdrop of his angular and Black Sabbath inspired guitar work. Alice Hubley’s keyboard playing further continues the sense of doom that is prevalent across the album; often accompanying with minor-key harmonies. The rhythm section is comprised of tight-knit pairing bassist Joseph Colkett and drummer Nathan Ridley who work together tastefully to underpin the chaotic nature of their fellow members’ musical style.

It’s difficult to pinpoint the most exciting thing about this debut album. It could be the experimental instrumentation, the successful combination of angular and melodic hooks or the fact that Mass Datura are certainly setting themselves up for a lucrative future with this impressive release.

Released: October 2017
Format: 12" vinyl
Cat: DT020
Label: Dull Tools



1. Dream Thief
2. Feel Me Human
3. Temporary Halo
4. Fantasy Fricti on
5. Hello Evil
6. Black Palm
7. Thousand Nails