Skip to content


Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Think not of this album as a covers record, because it isn’t really. Well, it is, but not really.

Let me explain. Often when an artist releases a covers album they are at a crossroads in their careers, or their record company needs to keep them in the public conscience. So, they’ll change a couple of chords on a few tracks and release it.

Ventriloquism is not that, it’s not that at all. This is, to all intents and purposes, an original album with 11 tracks you probably recognise. Meshell has managed to reinvent some well-known tracks and give them a whole new life.

Let’s take ‘Sometimes It Snows In April’ a Prince track, who takes on a Prince track? She’s managed to make it sound even more heart-warming than the original with her hushed manner and sensitive phrasing.

Then there’s ‘Tender Love’ and ‘Waterfalls’, both very different tracks in their original composition, brought in to the 21st century by a woman whose voice could melt the coldest of hearts.

As I said, Ventriloquism is more than an album of covers, it’s an album of music. All brought together on beautiful double heavyweight vinyl.



1. I Wonder If I Take You Home
2. Nite And Day
3. Sometimes It Snows In April
4. Waterfalls
5. Atomic Dog 2017
6. Sensitivity
7. Funny How Time Flies (When You’re Having Fun)
8. Tender Love
9. Don’t Disturb This Groove
10. Private Dancer
11. Smooth Operator (Meshell Ndegeocello Version)


Released: March 2018
Cat: M6702 / Naive