Skip to content

Presents The Holy Strangers

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Release: Released September 8th 2017
Product: Double 12" LP + digital download
Cat: FTH290 (Full Time Hobby)

Nothing if not original, Micah P. Hinson pushes the boundaries of Americana-folk music to produce what he himself describes as "modern folk opera". Odd? Yes, slightly. But also extremely striking in its compelling cinematic spoken-word style, quite reminiscent of the works of the late John Trudell.


1. The Temptation
2. The Great Void
3. Lover's Lane
4. The Years Tire On
5. Oh, Spaceman
6. The Holy Strangers
7. Micah Book One
8. The War
9. The Darling
10. The Awakening
11. The Last Song
12. The Memorial Day Massacre
13. The Lady From Abilene
14. Come By Here


(The words of the press release, not us)

Micah P. Hinson’s new album “Presents The Holy Strangers” is described by the artist as being a “modern folk opera.” Telling the story of a war time family, going from birth to love, to marriage and children, to war and betrayal, murder to suicide – spanning all of the strange and glorious places life can lead. We follow their story, we see their decisions, we see their faults and their beauty. We live with them, we die with them. Two years in the making, Micah wrote and recorded The Holy Strangers in Denison, Texas, incorporating ancient reel to reels, analogue keyboards, old Tascam and Yamaha desks. The recording only entered the digital realm once pre-mastering took place. Split across two pieces of the vinyl, the 14 tracks which make up The Holy Strangers are at times sparse and haunting; at other times luscious, maybe even euphoric. From the Johnny Cash-style country single “Lover’s Lane,” to the album’s broad, spoken-word centrepiece “Micah Book One”, The Holy Strangers covers a lot of ground over the course of its hour long running time, appealing to both long-time fans and new ones alike.