Skip to content

Four Against Fate


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

An air of the unsettled is a staple of Robert Lloyd’s career, from The Prefects’s dank dexterity and jittery paranoia of the first Nightingales’ release, Idiot Strength, onward through four decades of top-notch recordings. If the unique persona of Lloyd and crew always came across on their ten albums and countless line-ups, it was largely as an acquired taste of the musical cognoscenti. Labels good and bad seemed to feel, at one point or another, a public duty and a point of pride to release a Nightingales album before returning to the business of business. Four Against Fate is remarkable. It’s the work of what’s now the band’s longest-serving line-up. The instrumental precision of any version of Nightingales has been one of the band’s defining hallmarks, but the psychic interplay of a group can take a few albums to kick in with full majesty - here’s proof of that.

Released: May 2020
Cat: PICI0024
Label: Tiny Global Productions



1.  Thicko Rides Again
2.  The Top Shelf
3.  Neverender
4.  Wicked Winter (Lost In Highland Park)
5.  Then I Felt
6.  The End Began Somewhere
7.  Devil’s Due
8.  Everything, Everywhere, All Of The Time
9.  The Other Side
10.  On The Make
11.  Simple Soul
12.  The Desperate Quartet