Skip to content

The Clouds Hill Tapes Pts. I, II & III


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

These recordings of three sessions dating from the years 2018/ 2019 and taken at the Clouds Hill Studio are now being published digitally and as a 3-LP vinyl box set. Part I features eight pieces, and Parts II and III six pieces each, which have been entirely newly arranged, produced by Johann Scheerer, and performed by Omar Rodríguez-López and a range of guest musicians.

Only very few songwriters and arrangers have succeeded in leaving their mark on several generations with their compositions and their performances. Omar Rodríguez-López is one of these exceptional artists. Just hearing his name brings a shine to the eyes of aficionados of hard or virtuoso or cosmic music. Listening to his music you can feel it: This is someone who completely abandons himself to his art – and someone with an incredible amount of knowledge about the depth of possibility guitar music can explore.

During the 2000s Omar Rodríguez-López released an astonishing variety of solo works. On these recordings the artist used pieces that had accumulated over the years. However, what has so far been missing is a release that brings together the pieces from that era. This wait now has come to an end for here are The Clouds Hill Tapes, Part I – III featuring 20 tracks that present his music in a new light. Omar Rodríguez-López has long considered the Hamburg Clouds Hill studio his creative second home.

Released: September 2020
Label: Clouds Hill



The Clouds Hill Tapes Part I.
1. Roman Lips
2. Fishtank
3. Bitter Tears
4. Houses Full Of Hurt
5. Science Urges
6. Fool So Bleak
7. Arcos Del Amor
8. To Kill A Chi Chi

The Clouds Hill Tapes Part II.
1 .Diamond Teeth
2. Vanishing Tide
3. Eastern Promises
4. Through Wires
5. Killing Out
6. We Feel The Silence

The Clouds Hill Tapes Part III.
1. Winter‘s Gone
2. It All Begins With You
3. Running Away
4. Paint Yourself A Saint
5. Born To Be A Nobody
6. Tell Me What I Did Wrong