Skip to content

The Fear Is Excruciating, But Therein Lies The Answer (10th Anniversary)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Both LP editions contain a poster insert.

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of The Fear is Excruciating, But Therein Lies the Answer, Sargent House is incredibly proud to present a limited edition re-issue of Red Sparowes critically acclaimed third studio album. The Fear is Excruciating, But Therein Lies the Answer maintains their layered arrangements and swirling amplified crescendos, Americana noir soundscapes (punctuated by the extended pedal steel on 'In Every Mind'), and gloriously triumphant melodies ('Giving Birth to Imagined Saviors'). Earlier records focused on the larger scope of the album, but The Fear… is song-centered, with the individual tracks harboring stronger independent identities. Where previous endeavors found the band propelled by enormous walls of sound, they managed to temper their monolithic progressions with distinct passages of separated and soft-spoken instrumentation. 

Released: June 2020
Cat: SH035
Label: Sargent House



1. Truths Arise
2. In Illusions of Order
3. A Hail of Bombs
4. Giving Birth to Imagined Saviors
5. A Swarm
6. In Every Mind
7. A Mutiny
8. As Each End Looms and Subsides