Skip to content

We're The Martians, Now

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Liverpool based The Room in the Wood announce the release of their second album (eponymous first album in 2018 gained considerable critical acclaim and worldwide radio play). The band’s core consists of singer/lyricist Dave Jackson and guitarist/songwriter Paul Cavanagh who worked together in The Room. They have created yet another wonderful album that breathes influences from their long careers. After The Room split, Dave continued with the legendary Peel faves Benny Profane, Paul was in Ludus, Top and The Zutons. On this new album, Dave Jackson lyrically covers the universe in big and small with biting sarcasm on Britain’s situation and the world in general. It is not the Martians we have to be afraid of, mankind has turned into those cruel Martians from the old sci-fi books and films. Paul Cavanagh’s tunesmithery is gorgeous and varied, from T-Rex stompers (‘Fun of the Fair’, ‘The Earth Is Flat’) to Bacharach-esque twangs (‘Charmed’) on to sparse folky acoustic guitar arrangements (‘Dragonfly’. The album features ace drumming by Colin George Lamont (Mark Lanegan, Dave Gahan), charming flute by Simon James and heavenly backing vocals by Helena Jacks. Recorded and mixed by Steve Powell (Michael Head & the Red Elastic Band) at his Liverpool-based Ark Studios, it was mastered by Pete Maher..

Released: June 2020
Cat: TURN71
Label: A Turntable Friend



1. Diamond Clouds
2. Mars (Won’t Save Us)
3. Stowaway
4. Blue
5. We’re The Martians, Now
6. Shimmer
7. Fun Of The Fair
8. Charmed
9. Dragonfly
10. Halloween Lies
11. Under The Waterfall
12. The Earth Is Flat (Fool’s Anthem)