Skip to content

No.1 In Heaven (2019)

by Sparks

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available.

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Originally released in 1979, the newly remastered No.1 In Heaven – the iconic eighth album by American electronic act Sparks – is reissued for 2019 on coloured vinyl.

This reissue also includes numerous bonus tracks, including the rare and original Peter Cook promo spots for the record, that were only available on the original UK picture disc pressings of 'Tryouts For The Human Race' and 'Beat The Clock'.

The No.1 in Heaven album saw a departure from Sparks' more traditional band format– and saw them collaborate with the renowned Giorgio Moroder to create an album of synth-laden electro tracks, sans guitar and bass. At the time the album received mixed opinions from music critics, some accusing Sparks of betraying their pop and rock roots; but forty years and 16 more albums later, Sparks are still confounding, and amazing critics with their genre-defying and pioneering music. Now, No.1 In Heaven is seen as an important and essential bookmark in the history of electronic music, inspiring countless other artists.

Released: March 2019
Cat: LBRV119
Label: Lil Beethoven Records



1. Tryouts for the Human Race
2. Academy Award Performance
3. La Dolce Vita
4. Beat the Clock
5. My Other Voice
6. The Number One Song in Heaven
7. Tryouts For the Human Race (Alternative Long Version)
8. Peter Cook's Promo Spot For No. 1 In Heaven
9. The Number One Song In Heaven (Single Version)
10. Beat the Clock (Long Version)
11. Peter Cook's Promo Spot For Tryouts For The Human Race
12. Tryouts For The Human Race (Single Version)