Skip to content

The Crack


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

The Crack 40th anniversary reissue on heavyweight virgin vinyl, including download card.

Released in 1979, The Crack contains the UK hit singles 'Babylon’s Burning' and 'Something That I Said'. Very much fitting the era’s protest atmosphere – the white-reggae of 'Jah War', which was written in the aftermath of the Southall unrest and the over-use of force by the Metropolitan Police’s Special Patrol Group in the ‘70s, was also released as a single.
Hard-hitting song 'S.U.S' also deals with similar issues – a withering comment on the notorious stop and search laws. The album is both anthemic, with simmering roots reggae and dub, but seared by classic rock guitar leads, totally redefining the genre and combining to create an ominous atmosphere of paranoia and dread reflective of the times in which it was made.

Released: February 2019
Cat: 7702623
Label: UMC



1. Babylon's Burning
2. Dope For Guns
3. S.U.S.
4. Something That I Said
5. You're Just A…
6. It Was Cold
7. Savage Circle
8. Jah War
9. Criminal Mind
10. Backbiter
11. Out Of Order
12. Human Punk (Live At The Marquee, London, 19 July 1979)