Skip to content

Summerteeth (Deluxe Edition)

by Wilco

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Summerteeth is released as a deluxe edtion 5LP set, limited to 6000 copies, featuring the remastered studio album, unreleased demos, alternative recordings and outtakes pressed on 180g vinyl.

Wilco’s third album, Summerteeth, arrived in March 1999 to glowing reviews for its daring arrangements, lush harmonies and revealing lyrics. More than 20 years later, the Chicago-based band is expanding one of its best with multiple collections packed with hours of unreleased studio and live recordings.

Summerteeth introduced many fan-favourite classic tracks that the band continues to play live today, including I’m Always In Love, A Shot In The Arm and Via Chicago. The 24 previously unreleased recordings that debut on the deluxe edition explore the making of the critically acclaimed album with demos No Hurry and I’ll Sing It, outtakes I’m Always In Love (Early Run Through) and Viking Dan, and alternate versions Summer Teeth (Slow Rhodes Version) and Pieholden Suite (Alternate).

The four-CD starts with a Bob Ludwig 2020 remastered version of the original album (making its CD debut), along with an entire disc of unreleased studio outtakes, alternate versions and demos that chart the making of the album from songwriting demos to alternate studio arrangements to finished masters. The two remaining discs in the CD version of Summerteeth (Deluxe Edition) feature a previously unissued live show. The concert took place late in the Summerteeth tour, on November 1, 1999 in Colorado at The Boulder Theatre, when the new songs had been road-tested and the band was in top form. Sourced from an uncirculated soundboard recording, it features band members Jeff Tweedy, John Stirratt, Ken Coomer and Jay Bennett. Most of the songs on Summerteeth were performed during the show, along with several tracks from the band’s two previous records, Being There (1996) and A.M. (1995), as well as Mermaid Avenue (1999). The latter was the first in a series of albums that Wilco recorded with Billy Bragg where the group wrote music for and sang previously unheard lyrics penned by folk icon Woody Guthrie.

Released: November 2020
Cat: 0603497846054
Label: Rhino



Vinyl Tracklisting

LP One: Original Album

Side One
1. Can’t Stand It
2. She’s A Jar
3. A Shot In The Arm
4. We’re Just Friends

Side Two
1. I’m Always In Love
2. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (Again)
3. Pieholden Suite
4. How To Fight Loneliness

LP Two: Original Album

Side One
1. Via Chicago
2. ELT
3. My Darling
4. When You Wake Up Feeling Old

Side Two
1. Summer Teeth
2. In A Future Age
3. 23 Seconds Of Silence
4. Candyfloss
5. A Shot In The Arm (Remix)

LP Three: Outtakes/Alternates/Demos *

Side One
1. Tried And True (Demo)
2. I’m Always In Love (Demo)
3. All I Need (Demo)
4. I’ll Sing It (Demo)
5. Two Guitars – Instrumental (Demo)
6. Candyfloss (Demo)
7. In A Future Age (Demo)

Side Two
1. No Hurry (Demo)
2. She’s A Jar (Demo)
3. Can’t Locator It (Guitar Riff Demo)
4. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (Again) (Demo)
5. Summer Teeth (Slow Rhodes Version)
6. Pieholden Suite (Alternate)

LP Four: Outtakes/Alternates/Demos *

Side One
1. I’m Always In Love (Early Run Through)
2. My Darling (Alternate)
3. Tried And True (Alternate)
4. She’s A Jar (Alternate)
5. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (Again)
6. Candyfloss (Intro)

Side Two
1. Every Little Thing (Alternate)
2. Viking Dan (Outtake)
3. We’re Just Friends/Yee Haw (10/29/99 Minneapolis Soundcheck)
4. Summer Teeth (Alternate)
5. In A Future Age (Take 3)

LP Five: An Unmitigated Disaster: Tower Records/WXRT (3/11/99) *

Side One
1. Intro
2. I’m Always In Love
3. Via Chicago
4. How To Fight Loneliness
5. She’s A Jar

Side Two
1. We’re Just Friends
2. Can’t Stand It
3. I Got You (At The End Of The Century)
4. Forget The Flowers
5. California Stars

* previously unreleased