Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

Song of the Lark... and Other Far Memories

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

4LP box set including Angel Olsen’s latest two albums, ‘All Mirrors’ and ‘Whole New Mess’, as well as an LP of bonus audio. Also includes 40-page book including photo shoot outtakes, pictures from the recording of these albums, handwritten lyrics and items of meaning to Angel. 

Originally conceived as a double album, ‘All Mirrors’ and ‘Whole New Mess’ were distinct parts of a larger whole, twin stars that each expressed something bigger and bolder than Angel Olsen had ever made. Released in 2019, ‘All Mirrors’ is massive in scope and sound, tracing Olsen’s ascent into the unknown, to a place of true self-acceptance, no matter how dark, or difficult, or seemingly lonely. ‘All Mirrors’ is colossal, moving, dramatic in an Old Hollywood manner. Recorded before ‘All Mirrors’ but released after, ‘Whole New Mess’ is the bones and beginnings of the songs that would rewrite Olsen’s story. This is Angel Olsen in her classic style: stark solo performances, echoes and open spaces, her voice both whispered and enormous. ‘All Mirrors’ and ‘Whole New Mess’ presented the two glorious extremes of an artist who, in these songs, became new by embracing herself entirely. 

Now, with Song of the Lark… And Other Far Memories, these twin stars become a constellation with the full extent of the songs’ iterations: all the alternate takes, B-sides, remixes and re-imaginings are here, together. Alongside, a 40-page book collection tells a similar story, not just through outtakes and unseen photos but through the smaller, evocative details: handwritten lyrics, a favourite necklace, a beaded chandelier. As if it could be more plainly stated (there’s nothing more), Angel adds one cover here: a loving, assertive rendition of Roxy Music’s ‘More Than This’. 

It is a definitive collection, not just of these songs but of their revelations and their writer, from their simplest origins to their mightiest realizations.

Released: May 2021
Cat: JAG394LP
Label: Jagjaguwar



1. Lark
2. All Mirrors
3. Too Easy
4. New Love Cassette
5. Spring
6. What It Is
7. Impasse
8. Tonight
9. Summer
10. Endgame
11. Chance
12. Whole New Mess
13. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
14. (New Love) Cassette
15. (We Are All Mirrors)
16. (Summer Song)
17. Waving, Smiling
18. Tonight (Without You)
19. Lark Song
20. Impasse (Workin’ For The Name)
21. Chance (Forever Love)
22. What It Is (What It Is)
23. All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel Remix)
24. New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix)
25. Smaller It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)
26. Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling)
27. More Than This

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet