Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

Art Devo

by Devo
Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

3xLP plus a 7”, Limited edition colour vinyl hot pink marbled with black, Gold foiled archive box, A set of double sided art cards, A Scratch ‘N’ Sniff image, Liner notes by Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald V Casale.

Futurismo proudly present the release all hardcore Devo fans have been waiting for: ART DEVO 1973-1977, a lovingly packaged box set housing rare, unheard and obscure mind blowers sourced directly from the vaults of The De-Evolution Band. This anthology takes you from the band’s initial conception in Akron, Ohio to the moment before the world woke up, in a collection of sonic and visual art that captures Devo at the dawn of industrial death.

ART DEVO showcases the mesmerizing evolution of a band on the brink of discovery, mining irony, wit and dark humour from the madness of a distorted modern world still coming to terms with aftermath of a collapsed economy and the Vietnam war. From 1973-1977 Devo would transform from an art project, pop art in the literal sense, into the group David Bowie would declare “the band of the future”. Here you will find the audio mutations of a band at the edge of greatness, initial concepts that gave birth to a new aesthetic that continually challenged preconceptions about music, art, performance, culture, composition and was also the birth of Booji Boy. While the songs here may not be fully grown, raw even, these are the seeds of subversion that kickstarted Devo’s 50 year legacy.

Spanning 3 LP’s and a 7” of predominantly unreleased material, this collection draws purely from that integral early history, garnered from unearthed basement recordings, original demo tapes, unfinished montages and rare live audio, all taken from the bands personal archive. The music is set against rare imagery, photos and personal artwork, with liners penned directly from the hands of founding members Jerry Casale and Mark Mothersbaugh and packaged in a gold foiled archive box containing separate art cards, to evoke a pseudo auction house art catalogue. Did we mention one of the images is also Scratch ‘N’ Sniff!  

This is a one-time only, strictly Limited Ddition box set, never to be remade, showcasing why Devo was, and still is, one of the most important bands in American history. De-evolution is real. The art of Devo is real. Here is the evidence.  

The tracklist that has been curated by the band, they come housed in a gold foiled archive box, and contain a set of Double sided art cards - including a Scratch ‘N’ Sniff image. Plus liner notes by Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald V Casale. 

Released: September 2023
Label: Futurismo Records



Side A: Exhibit [A] 1973-1976 
A1. Boojis Industrial Death 
A2. Total Love 
A3. Auto Modown (Early version) 
A4. Space Girl Blues (Early version) 
A5. Live Forever 
A6. Androgyny (Live at Kent Kove 74) 
A7. Fraulein (Kent Kove 1974)

Side B: Exhibit [B] 1973-1975 
B1. Bicentennial Birthday 
B2. Man From the Past 
B3. Midget/My Lai Mama (Kent Kove 74) 
B4. Shimmy Shake 
B5. All Of Us 
B6. Hubert House 
B7. The Tinkle Tune

Side C: Exhibit [C] 1973-1975 
C1. Private Secretary (Kent Kove 74) 
C2. I Don’t Know Why 
C3. Dixie 
C4. Pigs Waddle (Kent Kove74) 
C5. Death Of Lt. Casanova (Kent Kove 74) 

Side D: Exhibit [D] 1975-1977 
D1. U Got Me Bugged (Instrumental version)
D2. I Don’t Know What I Do Do
D3. Huboon Stomp
D4. Can U Take It (Early version)
D5. Uncontrollable Urge (Early version)
D6. Everything’s Gonna Be Alright
D7. Falling In Love Again 

Side E: Exhibit [E] 1975-1977
E1. Devo Corporate Anthem (Early version)
E2. Shrivel Up (Early version)
E3. Smart Patrol (Early version)
E4. I’m Lost at Home
E5. Untitled
E6. Never Go Back
E7. Secret Agent Man (Mark vocal) 

Side F: Exhibit [F] 1975-1977 
F1. Social Fools (Early version)
F2. A Plan For U (Early version)
F3. Nutty Buddy (Live at JB’s 76)
F4. Dogs Of Democracy
F5. Race Of Doom (Early version)
F6. Space Junk (Early version)
F7. Primal Satisfaction*
F8. End Message
7” Side G: Exhibit [G] 1975

G1. Untitled Montage (Harlan Hall)
G2. Untitled Montage (Harlan Hall) 

Side H: Exhibit [H] 1975-1977
H1. Untitled Montage (Harlan Hall)
H2. Untitled Montage (Greenwood)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review