Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

King Rocker (Soundtrack)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

★ LP is on red vinyl and includes A3 theatrical poster, booklet and download code.

★ Bookpack DVD/CD includes the King Rocker film + over 90 minutes of extras and the soundtrack on CD. 

Following the huge recent success of ‘King Rocker’, spotlighting The Nightingales as one of the best band’s in Britain, comes the soundtrack and DVD to one of 2021’s break-out films. This special ‘King Rocker’ bookback DVD/CD deluxe package includes the full length feature film with over 90 minutes of extras and unseen footage alongside the soundtrack. This collector’s edition is beautifully encased with 20 pages of unreleased behind the scenes photos and liner notes from Michael Cumming and Stewart Lee.

Comedian Stewart Lee and director Michael Cumming (Brass Eye, Toast Of London) investigate a missing piece of punk history. Robert Lloyd, best known for fronting cult Birmingham bands The Prefects and The Nightingales, has survived under the radar for over four decades. But how, if at all, does Robert want to be remembered? The anti-rockumentary ‘King Rocker’ weaves the story of Birmingham’s undervalued underdog autodidact into that of the city’s forgotten public sculpture of King Kong, eschewing the celebrity interview and archive-raid approach for a free-associating bricolage of Indian food, bewildered chefs, vegetable gardening, prescription medicines, pop stardom and pop art. All of the highlights from the film are here, along with rarities which won’t appear on any of the deluxe reissues of the Nightingales’ catalogue, among them 7″ versions of “Use Your Loaf”, the Bob Luman hit “Let’s Think About Living” and “Black Country”, a glam remix of crowd favourite “Thick And Thin” and a version of Christy & Emily’s “Ghost” which rivals the Nightingales’ take on TLC’s “Unpretty” for sheer beauty. The only act with roots in the punk era that have gone on to make records more captivating, cutting and entertaining today than at any point in their past; 2022 will be a busy year for the Nightingales, with months of live dates planned, a limited edition remix 12″, deluxe reissues of both ‘Hysterics’ and ‘In The Good Old Country Way’, and a hardcover book collecting Robert’s lyrics.

Released: March 2022
Cat: KROCK001
Label: Fire Records



A1. Use Your Loaf (7” Version)
A2. Surplus And Scarcity (Live)
A3. What A Carry On
A4. Let's Think About Living (7” Version)
A5. Black Country (7” Version)
A6. Ghost
B1. Born Again In Birmingham
B2. Overreactor
B3. Thick And Thin (Glam Version)
B4. Chaff
B5. The Desperate Quartet
B6. Gales Doc

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet