Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

So Cool - The Very Best Of


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Bands emerging from the late Seventies Mod revival can be divided into two camps -
the 'Punks in Parkas', who would grow their fringes out, buy a synthesizer and hop
aboard the next bandwagon twelve months later, and those who wanted to emulate the
soulful craft and passion of the trailblazers from the previous decade. Secret Affair were
definitely in the second category.

In 1978 singer Ian Page and guitarist Dave Cairns crawled from the wreckage of the
New Hearts (their only singles 'Just Another Teenage Anthem' and 'Plain Jane' now
collectable and desirable 45s), channelled their rejection and cynicism into something
more positive and set about writing the songs that would later become Secret Affair

Released in August '79, their debut single 'Time For Action' (the first of three UK Top 40
hits) was a statement of intent and a call to arms for a passionate following they called
The Glory Boys. Each subsequent release was a mini-manifesto - titles like 'Let Your
Heart Dance', 'My World', 'Sound Of Confusion', 'Soho Dreams' and 'All The Rage' were
full of energy and excitement.

The band's finest moments have been collected together on vinyl with this fourteen
track "all killer, no filler" LP collection that showcases Secret Affair's consistent ability to
match heartfelt lyrics with well-crafted tunes.

Curated by founding member, guitarist and songwriter Dave Cairns and feature rare and
previously unseen photographs by Paul Calvert along with sleeve notes from original
fan, Acid Jazz Records' founder Eddie Piller, who has the scars (and the tattoo) to show
for his long term loyalty.

The band are still a going concern, their live gigs attracting an enthusiastic crowd of
fans old and new. There is no going through the motions, their commitment, conviction
and style are still obvious. So cool, indeed.

Released: September 2022
Cat: DEMREC1014
Label: Demon Records



A1. Glory Boys B1. Let Your Heart Dance A2. Sound Of Confusion B2. Do You Know? A3. My World B3. I'm A Bullet A4. Don't Look Down B4. Soho Strut A5. So Cool B5. All The Rage A6. Time For Action B6. Soho Dreams A7. Lost In The Night (Mack The Knife) B7. When The Show's Over

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review