Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

Mazy Fly


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Mazy Fly, the second full-length by the Bay Area artist Spellling, explores the tension between the thrill of exploring the unknown and the terror of imminent destruction. Chrystia Cabral spent the summer of 2018 in her Berkeley studio reflecting on the thresholds of human progress and longing for a new and better tomorrow. She was struck by the way the same technologies that have given humans the ability to achieve utopian dreams of discovery have also brought the world to the precipice of dystopic global devastation. Despite the darkness of this reality, Mazy Fly is defiantly optimistic. It is a celestial voyage into the unknown, piloted by Cabral.

Each song on Mazy Fly enshrines distinct sentiments within this imagined voyage, from the deeply personal ('Hard to Please Reprise') to the cosmic (aliens travel to Earth to hear music on 'Real Fun'). 'Haunted Water' is an intensely heavy song about the memories of colonial violence that haunt the historical slave ship routes of the Middle Passage. “Under the Sun” is a cosmic prayer for good fortune that sees the potential for radical newness in our own lives in the births of stars.


1. Red (2:14)
2. Haunted Water (4:47)
3. Hard to Please (2:08)
4. Golden Numbers (2:45)
5. Melted Wings (1:53)
6. Under the Sun (5:56)
7. Real Fun (3:34)
8. Hard to Please (Reprise) (3:35)
9. Afterlife (5:25)
10. Dirty Desert Dreams (2:33)
11. Secret Thread (5:07)
12. Falling Asleep (2:46)


Released: February 2019
Cat: SBR210 / Sacred Bones

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review