Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

Brave Words (2023 Expanded/Remastered Reissue)


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Remixed and remastered under the supervision of Martin Phillipps, this expanded edition of The Chills’ debut album is reissued for the first time in over 35 years. The newly mixed edition features additional rarities and unreleased tracks from The Chills vaults, along with brand new reimagined artwork by Martin Phillipps and a host of additional liner notes.

Originally produced by Mayo Thompson (Pere Ubu/Red Krayola) and featuring standout tracks ‘Wet Blanket’, ‘Night Of Chills Blue’, this extended 18-track edition includes much-lauded tracks from the era, such as ‘House With A Hundred Rooms’ and the awesome ‘Party In My Heart’.

Part of the 80s extraordinarily vibrant and innovative independent music scene in New Zealand, The Chills became flag bearers, taking the Dunedin sound, as championed by the Flying Nun label, to the world. Long recognised as one of New Zealand's most influential bands, Brave Words is a shining example of their unique sound and has been praised as a masterpiece by critics and fans alike.

Released: October 2023
Cat: FIRELP673P   
Label: Fire Records



Side A

A1. Push (Remastered)

A2. Rain (Remastered)

A3. Speak For Yourself (Remastered)

A4. Look For The Good In Others And They'll See The Good In You (Remastered)

A5. Wet Blanket (Remastered)

A6. Ghosts (Remastered)

Side B

B1. Dan Destiny And The Silver Dawn (Remastered)

B2. Night Of Chill Blue (Remastered)

B3. 16 Heart-Throbs (Remastered)

B4. Brave Words (Remastered)

B5. Dark Carnival (Remastered)

B6. Creep (Remastered)

Side C

C1. The Oncoming Day (Remastered)

C2. I Think I’d Thought I'd Nothing Else To Think About (Remastered)

C3. House With A Hundred Rooms (Remastered)

Side D

D1. Party In My Heart (Remastered)

D2. Living In A Jungle (Remastered)

D3. Rain (Alternate Instrumental Version - Remastered)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review