Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

Kaleidoscope World (Expanded 2023 Reissue)

Sold out

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

The Chills reissue their celebrated early singles compilation, this 24-track expanded version of Kaleidoscope World gathers together tracks from the ‘Dunedin Double’ compilation, live recordings, ‘Doledrums’ single and the band’s seminal ‘Pink Frost’.

The collection also contains ‘The Lost EP’, with early takes on their groundbreaking ‘Submarine Bells’ album, alongside the aching ‘I Love My Leather Jacket’, perfectly illustrating the rollercoaster ride of Martin Phillipps and The Chills as portrayed in the award film The Triumph And The Tragedy Of Martin Phillipps.

“Singer/guitarist Martin Phillipps’ group was at the forefront of the extraordinary little guitar-pop scene in New Zealand in the early ’80s.. Kaleidoscope World is the major document of their early era.” Pitchfork

Part of the 80’s extraordinarily vibrant and innovative independent music scene in New Zealand, The Chills became flag bearers, taking the Dunedin sound, as championed by the Flying Nun label, to the world. Long recognised as one of New Zealand's most influential bands, Kaleidoscope World is a definitive artifact from Martin Phillipps’ groundbreaking project.

Released: October 2023
Cat: FIRELP726     
Label: Fire Records



Side A

A1. Kaleidoscope World

A2. Satin Doll

A3. Frantic Drift

A4. Rolling Moon

A5. Bite

Side B

B1. Flame Thrower

B2. Pink Frost

B3. Purple Girl

B4. This Is The Way

B5. Never Never Go

B6. Don't Even Know Her Name

B7. Bee Bah Bee Bah Bee Boe

Side C

C1. Whole Weird World

C2. Dream By Dream

C3. Doledrums

C4. Hidden Bay

C5. I Love My Leather Jacket

C6. The Great Escape

Side D

D1. Oncoming Day (Early Version)

D2. Dan Destiny and the Silver Dawn (Unplugged)

D3. Martyn’s Doctor Told Me

D4. I'll Only See You Alone Again

D5. Green-Eyed Owl (Live)

D6. Smile From A Dead Dead Face (Live)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review