Skip to content

Shut Up! Yo Liberals!

Save 29%
Original price £17.00
Current price £12.00

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!


I’ve really been looking forward to this; Former Dandelion Adventure members Ajay Saggart and Mark Wavering thrashing out new material, creating Shut Up! Yo! Liberals!, the debut album from The Common Cold.

Distinctly rooted in the North-West’s musical tradition, this is a record that’s the perfect crispy and crunchy accompaniment for a Summer day trip, sarnies packed and the stereo up loud.

Yes, essentially this a much needed Summer record. It’s got hooks and riffs aplenty, it’s got catchy disco beats, it’s got wonderful blurty vocals too. But there’s more to it than this. The Common Cold slurp from the same magic, musical fountain as The Fall and Kaleidoscope, but they have their own proud style that makes them stand out.

The lyrics are intelligent and funny, capable of happily steering us on a transcendental journey of clever Psych/Garage Rock. Stand-outs include opener ‘Stop The Traffic’ a groovy introduction that enmeshes the listener just as the album does throughout, alongside classic street corner anthem ‘The London Look’. Slower track, the formidable ‘Napoleon’s Index Finger’ adds to the mix.

Dinosaur Jr’s Lou Barlow is apparently ‘totally digging these tunes’, something we seem to share. Catch The Common Cold. They’re highly infectious.



1. Stop The Traffic
2. The London Look
3. Napoleon's Index Finger
4. Half Nelson Headlock
5. Low Winter Sun
6. Bored Of The Bayou
7. Tapped
8. Pretty Julie
9. Body Language


Released: May 2018
Cat: TAKE26 / Action Records