Skip to content

Excerpts From Chapter 3: The Mind Runs A Net Of Rabbit Paths


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

The Third album from Rats on Rafts is available on Black vinyl with deluxe origami fold out sleeve & obi strip & DL Card.

The third album from Dutch punk-laced noiseniks adds new maturity and a conceptual feel that pulls the extremes of their sound together. A psyche-fuelled journey into the id punctuated with rhythmic kabuki modal mood swings, thunderstorms, digital beeps, traffic noise, and just plain old beautiful cacophonous reverb-drenched sound when needed. The ‘third chapter’ refers to the last five years that the Dutch band have spent creating their “difficult” third album. Each song spins a yarn; there are plagues, dreams, wind and fire, ‘mythical’ characters, and the search for the secret government warehouse.

Lead single, 'Tokyo Music Experience', resonates with a conveyor belt-propelled modal guitar, reflecting the halcyon days of Japanese super-productivity; a mesmerising mantra, infected with news bulletin on-the-hour bleeps underlining its time-sensitive nature; a pristine super-commercial anthem to drive loyalty and reinforce solidarity with the party! Having been described as creating “underground noise with a bracing, warped pop appeal” (Mojo), their new album is a coming-of-age post-classic with a unique worldview - inspired by Van Dyke Parks (Song Cycle) Scott Walker (3 & 4), Moondog (Elpmas), White Noise (An Electric Storm) and Beach Boys (Smile). If their previous effort (Tape Hiss) was their very own sketch of a sketch for an incomplete concept album, a noisy reaction to their previous life, then Excerpts From Chapter 3.., with all its interlaced intricacies, is the realisation of their transition from punk-spiked-pop to psyche-pop protagonists. Evolving, testing, infectious...

Released: January 2021
Label: Fire Records



1. Prologue: Rain
2. A Trail Of Wind And Fire 
3. Second Born Child 
4. Tokyo Music Experience
5. The Rise And Fall Of The Plague 
6. Another Year
7. Fragments 
8. The Disappearance Of Dr. Duplicate 
9. Excerpt Taken From Chapter 3 
10. Where Is My Dream? 
11. Part One: The Long Drought 
12. Part Two: Crossing The Desert 
13. Epilogue: Big Poisonous Shadows