Skip to content
We buy records. Click here for the info
We buy records. Click here for the info

Profound Mysteries II


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

“‘Profound Mysteries II’ is a direct continuation of the first instalment. Reoccurring themes such as love & loss, despair & reconciliation, is wrapped up in an esoteric nod to those artists and genres that shaped us in our formative years.” - Röyksopp (Svein Berge & Torbjørn Brundtland)

Electronic pop trailblazers Röyksopp announce the second part to their expansive ‘Profound Mysteries’ project, ‘Profound Mysteries II’.

Berge and Brundtland describe ‘Profound Mysteries’ as the biggest undertaking of Röyksopp’s career. It both encapsulates the uniqu sound they’ve spent decades honing and expands on it. It’s a bold look to the future, and an homage to the artists, genres and musical movements that first inspired them. It’s a project they’ve spent their whole lives making (the oldest ideas date back to the early days of Röyksopp, literally using MIDI data first composed by the band when they were teenagers in the 1990s), and it’s brand new.

Back in those early days, pioneers Berge and Brundtland immersed themselves in the Tromsø techno scene, a pivotal era in Norway’s electronic music history, and later formed Röyksopp during another fertile creative period known as the Bergen Wave; many of the artists who emerged in both scenes became vital creative partners throughout Röyksopp’s career. Their debut album, ‘Melody A.M.’ (released in 2001), would become a breakout success from the scene and led to an influential career that has taken in five studio albums, dozens of international hit singles, and numerous  GRAMMY, BRIT nominations and Spellemannprisen awards. This is all without mentioning a raft of acclaimed remixes for artists including Depeche Mode, Beck, Lady Gaga and Coldplay, and their production and songwriting work, or their timeless collaborations with the likes of Robyn, Lykke Li, and The Knife/Fever Ray’s Karin Dreijer Andersson.

‘Profound Mysteries’ is characterised by its wealth of collaborations. As always, Berge and Brundtland wrote, performed, and engineered the majority of the record together in Norway, though their collaborations span the world. On ‘Profound Mysteries’ Röyksopp recorded strings and woodwind in New York, Berlin, and Paris, while guest vocals come from both familiar artists in the Röyksopp universe (Susanne Sundfør) as well as new additions (Allison Goldfrapp, Beki Mari, Astrid S, Karen Harding, Pixx and Jamie Irrepressible).

Digipack CD.

Also available to independent retailers on opaque yellow cassette.

Released: August 2022
Cat: DOG052CA
Label: Dog Triumph



1. Demiclad Baboons
2. Let’s Get It Right feat.
3. Astrid S
4. Unity feat. Karen Harding
5. Lover feat. Susanne
6. Sundför
7. Sorry feat. Jamie
8. Irrepressible
9. Control
10. It Was A Good Thing feat.
11. Pixx
12. Remembering The
13. Departed
14. Tell Him feat. Susanne
15. Sundför
16. Some Resolve

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review