Skip to content

Meat Is Murder


Availability: In stock and shipping now.

Availability: Hurry, only one copy in stock!

Availability: Not in stock or no longer available

Availability: Not in stock but we can order it in. We aim to ship in 3-5 days.

Availability: In stock and shipping now.

With their second proper album Meat Is Murder, the smiths began to branch out and diversify, while refining the jangling guitar pop of their debut. 'The Headmaster Ritual' and 'I Want The One I Can't Have' are fine elaborations of the formula they laid out on the debut, while 'Rusholme Ruffians' is an infectious stab at rockabilly. Such was their creative thrust at this point; they were seen as the most important British band since Joy Division. Above all though, there was no other British group making music quite like this in 1985.

Released: 2012 (Reissue)
Cat: 0825646658787
Label: Rhino



1. The Headmaster Ritual
2. Rusholme Ruffians
3. I Want the One I Can't Have
4. What She Said
5. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
6. How Soon is Now?
7. Nowhere Fast
8. Well I Wonder
9. Barbarism Begins at Home
10. Meat is Murder